ARE YOU IN CRISIS? Please call the Crisis helpline:  1-888-893-8333

You are currently on the:

CMHA National

Visit our provincial websites

Announcing the Release of the CMHA SCB 2023/24 Annual Report

CMHA Simcoe County Branch (CMHA SCB) held its Annual Meeting on June 18th, where heartfelt thanks were extended to everyone who joined. During the meeting, the invaluable contributions of volunteers, donors, and staff were proudly recognized, acknowledging their instrumental role in this year’s successes. We are delighted to announce the release of the CMHA SCB 2023/24 Annual Report.

This year has been marked by significant milestones and unwavering resilience as CMHA SCB continues to provide high-quality mental health and addiction services. Here are some highlights from this year’s report:

This year’s Annual Meeting was particularly special as it marked Dr. Valerie Grdisa’s fifth and final meeting as CEO. Dr. Grdisa expressed pride in leading CMHA SCB and highlighted the upcoming transition to her new role as CEO at the Canadian Nursing Association throughout the summer. She leaves knowing CMHA SCB is in capable hands and poised to respond to community and regional needs and sustain and build upon accomplishments!

“These accomplishments are a testament to the hard work, dedication, and resilience of our staff, volunteers, and partners. Together, we are building a stronger, more integrated mental health and addiction care system design for all.” – Dr. Valerie Grdisa, CEO, CMHA Simcoe County Branch

The CMHA SCB 2023/24 Annual Report provides additional details of our remarkable achievements and noteworthy progress over the past year. It can be viewed and downloaded here.

Dr. Grdisa, CEO and the CMHA SCB Board of Directors extend heartfelt gratitude to the dedicated staff, volunteers, donors, community partners, funders and the entire CMHA family. Their unwavering support and commitment are the cornerstones of our success. Together, we will continue to make a difference in the lives of those we serve.

Thank you for being a part of our journey.

Announcement of CMHA SCB Board Chair, Angela Wiggins

CMHA SCB proudly announces Angela Wiggins as its new Board Chair following the June 18th, 2024 Board of Directors meeting. Angela currently serves as the Vice President of People & Culture and Chief Human Resources Officer at Georgian Bay General Hospital. With a robust background as a labour and employment lawyer and a micro-credential in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging, Angela is dedicated to fostering inclusivity.

Her vision aligns with advancing mental health services within the community, reinforcing CMHA SCB’s dedication to enhancing mental health and well-being in Simcoe County.  Angela Wiggins, CMHA SCB Board Chair, reflects on her new role: “I am excited to continue to work with the CMHA Simcoe County’s team and the Board of Directors as we continue to ensure that quality services are available to support mental health and addiction throughout the Region. I am looking forward to my continued involvement in this new role.”

Farewell to Outgoing CMHA SCB Board Members

Dr. Ayodele Akenroye, Chair: We extend our heartfelt thanks to Dr. Akenroye for his exceptional leadership as President during 2023/24, marking another year of significant progress. His dedication and hard work have been invaluable, strengthening our Board and guiding the transformation of CMHA SCB Branch.

Craig Nixon, Director: Our sincere gratitude goes to Councillor Nixon for his impactful service on the CMHA Simcoe County Board of Directors. His perspective from Barrie City Council has enriched our discussions, and his insights into the mental health and addiction sector will undoubtedly benefit his role as Councillor.

We are pleased to share our 2024/2025 CMHA SCB Board of Directors

Executive Committee:

Angela Wiggins, Chair

Natalie Conlon, 1st Vice Chair

Rachael Crawford-Rendine, 2nd Vice Chair

Carrie Gater, Treasurer and Finance Committee Chair

Staff Sergeant Mike Winn, Risk Officer and Quality, Risk & Asset Management Chair

Dr. Valerie Grdisa, CEO/Secretary (to August 5, 2024)

Dr. Jennifer Fillingham, Interim CEO/Secretary (effective August 6, 2024)


Crystal Barnard

Adam Kelly

Tamara Tschop McLaren, Governance Committee Chair

Carly Wilkinson

Skip to content